Make your own free website on Tripod.com

home

chat

message board

encounters

poetry

links

 

~Katia News~

copyright © Ally Cunningham

Here is where you will find the latest about Katia. Here is what I have found out so far this season. More information will be on its way.

 

Late breaking news!

KATIA'S BABY

I was just informed that Katia had her baby girl on June 15th, 2001! Her name is Elizaveta. Once I know more, I'll post it. I know a lot of you wrote to me asking if I knew anything. Hope this helps! Thanks to Paul Raski for giving me the news. Celebrity Link.com is where he found it. CONGRATULATIONS KATIA AND ILIA!!!! You have my blessings.


STARS ON ICE, PORTLAND, MAINE APRIL 7TH, 2001
Just came back from another great performance of Stars on Ice in Portland, Maine. This years performance, as you know, was extra special because it was Scott's last year. And boy did they put on a great show! At the end, several skaters from Stars on Ice's past came out onto the ice as Scott was skating his final program. Skaters from Jo-Jo Starbuck, Tracy Wilson to Paul Wylie, Rosalynn Somners, Katerina Witt (who said she flew all the way from Berlin to see Scott!...now thats dedication and a great friend!)and a very happy and pregnant Ekaterina were there. Each skater got to say goodbye to Scott in their own ways and in their own words. It was very moving and I don't think there was a dry eye in the arena. I know I lost it when Kristi gave Scott a rose...like she did 20 years ago as a little girl because she admired him. Ekaterina was on the ice with Ilia while everyone was saying goodbye. They were holding hands and he had his arm around her too. It was very nice to see. Clearly the rumor is no more and hopefully now people won't be making such a huge deal over it. It looked to me like Katia was about 7-8 months along so either May or June the baby will be born! So now that its out in the open, I was thinking of doing something kinda fun...like an online baby page for Katia. Maybe we can have a baby naming contest or an online poll and a page to place your wishes to Katia and her new baby...let me know by emailing me your ideas!

UPDATE! It has been stated that Katia will not be participating in this years Stars on Ice because she is several months pregnant. I received definate conformations from several reliable sources. She and Ilia are talking of marriage either after the baby is born or after the SOI season...which ever comes first I suppose. Her replacement in SOI will be Yuka Sato.

SOI practice, Sunday Sept. 24th.

 

I got to Simsbury by 1pm. The group was already on the ice. Kurt, Ilia, Steven, Jenni and Todd, Katia, Kristi, Renee and Gorsha, and most interestingly, Denis...without Elena. Scott and Tara were no where to be seen. I heard Tara injured her hip, so thats probably why she wasnt there. Also in attendance were choreographers Chris Dean, Sandra Bezic, LeeAnn Miller, Michael Seibert, and a mystery lady we couldnt figure out. Katia looked a bit sluggish at first, and I noticed she gained weight over the summer and cut her hair. Her legs no longer look like twigs, she looks like she gained some muscle there.

They started with the group number. The music is "Lets Get it On" by Marvin Gaye. It seems to be the traditional opening, but lots of lifts by Denis, Todd, and Gorsha lifting Kristi, Katia Jenni, and Renee. At the end of the number, it seems they have to end in a circle hold on to each other and get on their toepicks...seemed like they were having a little trouble holding that at the end. Something a little cute to report. While Katia and Ilia were on the ice, Ilia came from behind and gave Katia a huge bear hug and continued to hold her. It was very sweet to see and I'm happy they are still together and seem very much in love.

At this time I went to get a salad...the best thing their cafe sells by the way..I highly recommend it. As I was waiting, Ilia went through with a screwdriver in his hand. Odd I thought, until he came back with the screwdriver and one of his skates. So he was obviously fixing his boot. Back on the ice was Denis and Katia. They had taken two chairs and started playing on them on the ice...clearly not a great idea since they were falling off several times. Katia fell and it looked like it really hurt. At first we thought this was part of the program, but we dont think so.

Now Denis, Kristi, and Katia were on the ice for a pair number. The music is "Both Sides Now" which is very well known by Judy Collins, but someone else is singing and sings it much slower than normal. I'm thinking it might be Joni Mitchel, Doris Day, or someone with a voice similar. This was such a delight to watch and I was so happy I was able to see it. This program is going to be very exciting. They were doing moves and lifts like I had never seen before. Firstly, Denis is a he-man. In one element, he holds Kristi on his shoulders, and holds Katia by the hand while Katia does a forward outside death spiral! Man, I tell you, I was shocked, Denis looked like it didnt even phase him in the least! Another move they did was Kristi and Katia are on each of Denis' boots and they pull out foming what looks like a W. Very hard to do, and looked very painful as well. Katia will be doing many lifts with Denis that he and Elena did, so this will be cool to see Katia do them. Kristi didnt look comfortable at all up there! While they were practicing these lifts, Gorsha was giving pointers...but didnt seem to help much...he kept falling down on the ice. I didnt understand why until I realized he only had sneakers on. The last exciting element they worked on was a triple camel. I never would have imagined it, but wow, it was cool. After that, Denis got off the ice and Katia and Kristi worked on the program parts they have skating without Denis. This is in mirror formation and they were working out the being "in sync" parts. All in all, it looks like its going to be a nice program and I can't wait to see it.

 

COMPETITIONS

Copyright © Ally Cunningham

Katia is to skate in the "Grand Slam" October 5th-6th in MN.

*

Katia is also to skate in Kristi Yamaguchi's "A Golden Moment" which will be on October 21st in Oakland, California. Guests include Brian Boitano, Scott Hamilton, Kurt Browning, Jenni Meno and Todd Sand, Rosalyn Sumners, Renee Roca and Gorsha Sur, and Peggy Flemming.

*

SHOWS

Katia has been added to "Divas on Ice" which will be in Hershey, PA. Saturday, November 4th, 2000.

*

Katia will skate in "Ice Thriller" October 27th and 28th, 2000 at International Skating Center of Conn. For ticket information, please check out their website on my links page.

*

The Stars on Ice schedule for 2000-2001 has finally been released! Here is the tentative schedule. It is subject to change. To get more information about SOI and tickets, please go to my links page and go to SOI website.

SOI

2000

Saturday Nov 25 Lake Placid NY Olympic Center

Thursday December 28 Greensboro NC Greensboro Coliseum

Friday December 29 Charlotte NC Independence Arena

Saturday December 30 Baltimore MD Baltimore Arena

2001

Wednesday January 3 Salt Lake City UT The "E" Center

Friday January 5 Spokane WA Spokane Arena

Saturday January 6 Portland OR Rose Garden

Sunday January 7 Seattle WA Key Arena at Seattle Center

Wednesday January 10 Bakersfield CA Centennial Garden

Friday January 12 Oakland CA The Arena in Oakland

Saturday January 13 Sacramento CA ARCO Arena

Sunday January 14 San Jose CA San Jose Arena

Tuesday January 16 Tucson AZ Tucson Convention Center

Wednesday January 17 Los Angeles CA Staples Center

Thursday January 18 Phoenix AZ America West Arena

Saturday January 20 Anaheim CA Arrowhead Pond

Sunday January 21 San Diego CA San Diego Sports Arena

Tuesday January 23 Albuquerque NM Tingley Coliseum

Wednesday January 24 Denver CO Pepsi Center

Friday January 26 Oklahoma City OK Myriad Arena

Saturday January 27 Dallas TX Reunion Arena

Tuesday January 30 Omaha NE Omaha Civic Auditorium Arena

Wednesday January 31 Kansas City MO Kemper Arena

Friday February 2 St. Louis MO Savvis Center [*Note: The Savvis Center is the new name for the Kiel Center]

Saturday February 3 Chicago IL Allstate Arena

Sunday February 4 Indianapolis IN Conseco Fieldhouse

Tuesday February 6 Moline IL The Mark at the Quad Cities

Thursday February 8 Milwaukee WI Bradley Center

Friday February 9 Cleveland OH Gund Arena

Saturday February 10 Detroit MI The Palace of Auburn Hills

Sunday February 11 Pittsburgh PA Mellon Arena

Wednesday February 14 Minneapolis MN Target Center

Friday February 16 Tampa FL The Ice Palace

Saturday February 17 Orlando FL TD Waterhouse Centre

Sunday February 18 Fort Lauderdale FL National Car Rental Center

Monday February 19 Fort Myers FL TECO Arena

Friday February 23 Philadelphia PA First Union Center

Saturday February 24 Buffalo NY HSBC Arena

Sunday February 25 Cincinnati OH Firstar Center

Tuesday February 27 Fort Wayne IN Allen County War Memorial

Wednesday February 28 Dayton OH Nutter Center

Friday March 2 Long Island NY Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum

Saturday March 3 New York NY Madison Square Garden

Tuesday March 6 Rochester NY Blue Cross Arena

Wednesday March 7 Providence RI Providence Civic Center

Thursday March 8 Albany NY Pepsi Arena

Saturday March 10 Worcester MA Worcester Centrum Centre

Sunday March 11 Hartford CT Hartford Civic Center

Thursday March 15 Nashville TN Gaylord Entertainment Center

Friday March 16 New Orleans LA New Orleans Arena

Saturday March 17 Southaven MS DeSoto County Civic Center

Sunday March 18 Little Rock AR AllTel Arena

Tuesday March 20 New Orleans LA New Orleans Arena

Wednesday March 21 Bossier City LA CenturyTel Center

Friday March 23 Charleston SC North Charleston Coliseum

Saturday March 24 Greenville SC BI-LO Center

Sunday March 25 Raleigh NC Entertainment & Sports Arena

Tuesday March 27 Louisville KY Freedom Hall

Thursday March 29 Rockford IL Rockford Metro Center

Friday March 30 Grand Rapids Ml Van Andel Arena

Saturday March 31 Columbus OH Jerome Schottstein Center

Sunday April 1 Madison WI Kohl Center

Tuesday April 3 Hershey PA Hersheypark Arena Thursday

April 5 Wilkes-Barre PA First Union Arena

Friday April 6 Trenton NJ Sovereign Bank Arena

Saturday April 7 Portland ME Cumberland County Civic Arena

 

TV Schedule 2000-2001

coming soon!

 

 

Click on the snowflake to send your comments and questions! ~ Aletochka